Pumpkin Scones

My kids LOVE the pumpkin bread made from the Trader Joe’s mix. They ask for it all year so I try to keep a few boxes on hand out of season. It is the only boxed mix I use for anything. I don’t love it, though, it is just a little too sweet for me. I tend to crave more savory items (crazy, I know, I have so much fun baking sweets). So, when I saw the recipe for Pumpkin Scones in November’s Bon Appetit Magazine, I knew I had to try them. I feel like most scones are a little less sweet than muffins or breads. Less sugar, more butter, sounds good to me;).

I woke up a little earlier this morning to whip these up for the family before we sent the boys off to school. I am so glad I did, they are amazing. And while the boys may still prefer the box mix pumpkin bread, this scone recipe has won Ben and me over. It is the perfect fall baked treat with your morning coffee or afternoon tea.

Here is a great song for early morning dancing in the kitchen. Escape by Rupert Holmes.

Pumpkin Scones adapted from Bon Appetit, November 2014. Makes 8 scones.

You’ll need:

  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1 tsp. ground ginger
  • 1/2 tsp. freshly grated nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp. ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/4 tsp. ground cloves
  • 1/4 tsp. baking soda
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup (1 1/2 sticks) chilled unsalted butter
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup canned pure pumpkin
  • 1/4 cup buttermilk, plus more for brushing
  • 2 tbsp. raw sugar

IMG_8501

Whisk granulated sugar, baking powder, ginger, nutmeg, cinnamon, salt, cloves, baking soda, and flour in a large bowl.

IMG_8502

Grate the butter, using the large holes on a box grater, tossing to coat in dry ingredients as you go.

IMG_8503

Mix in egg, pumpkin and 1/4 cup buttermilk.

IMG_8507

Transfer dough to a lightly floured surface and pat into a thick disk.

IMG_8510

Cut into 8 wedges. Transfer to a parchment-lined baking sheet. Freeze until firm, about 25-30 minutes.

IMG_8509

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Brush scones with buttermilk and sprinkle with raw sugar.

IMG_8511

Bake until golden brown, 25-30 minutes. Serve with butter.

IMG_8513

Loved enjoying mine with my morning coffee!

IMG_8516

Be sure to sign up to receive email updates for the blog! Also, follow along on social media: Twitter – @IncidentalSpoon, Instagram – @TheIncidentalSpoon and Facebook – The Incidental Spoon. Hashtag, #TheIncidentalSpoon, if you try any of the recipes!

Leave a comment